The Infamous KONG….

Black KONG

Black KONG

I am sure all dog owners have heard of this popular choice dog toy and why not, it can be used as a normal chew, as a play toy and can be stuffed with treats of all sorts. Not only the multi-uses but this toy as promises durability. So why not add this toy to your collection?

But wait…

There is more to the KONG which is something very important when choosing the right one for your dog and that would be the colour and I do not mean picking your favourite colour. The KONG has a pink and a blue KONG which are for puppies, a red for ‘medium/heavy’ chewer and a black for the ‘extreme’ chewer. Zeea is ‘extreme’ to monster.

When I purchased my first KONG I had bought it was red as the store associate looked a Zeea and assured me the red would be strong enough…WRONG the top of the red KONG was chewed off in less than an hour. I now suspect that red was suggested because of Zeea’s size as most people think of ‘extreme’ chewers as the large muscularly built dogs (Rottweiler, Pitbull, Mastiff etc.) but size in this case does not matter. After the first ‘fail’ I purchased the black KONG which I am happy to say is still around today.

A word of advice though if your dog is a chewer make the toy more challenging to chew by getting at least one size bigger than recommended, as this will make it harder for them to use their full jaw strength as it will not comfortably fit in their mouth. You may find that your dog is stripping the rubber away (you’ll know this as the surface will no longer be smooth) but it is very minimal (and will not harm your dog) and the structure of the toy is still sound.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Infamous KONG….

  1. Brittany H says:

    Hi.. I found your posts very helpful. I have 2 English Bulldogs and they are VERY aggressive chewers. The Kong toys can’t withstand their chewing. However, I did find a ball at Petsmart or Petco, either one, that lasted us a whole year. If you haven’t tried it you definitely should.. the name of the ball is Star Mark Treat Despensing Chew Ball. I know my fur babies love it. I hope yours do too.

    Like

    • Zeea says:

      I have tried Star Mark toys before but not the treat ball. I’ll look into for sure. I suggest you try the orbee-tuff Diamond plated ball, you’ll be surprised at how strong it is. If you do try it let me know how it goes. Thanks.

      Like

  2. Debbie says:

    My Brody and your Zeea are much alike, we received a similar bark box with similar results. However he had not chewed off or unstuffed the branch, which is odd. He still loves his deflated plushes- we also call them roadkill! I have one more barkbox coming and theni will cancel my subscription. You reviews match what i would be saying. Our Brody is 8 month old Australian Shepherd and I would say he is a T-Rex type of chewer! Good lucjk with Zeeas toys i will be checking your reviews often.
    Thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

